DeepBlue Posted March 26, 2004 Share Posted March 26, 2004 Beckett or even dual Beckett Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted March 26, 2004 Share Posted March 26, 2004 [if money is no object, and you can spend as much as you want on a skimmer without making your house look like a giant protein skimmer] go for the deltec with 6 eheim needlewheel pumps.... ...i think cost about EUR3,699.00 ......means about SGD7,584.30 using 1 EUR = 2.05036 SGD since money is no object to you For Aquariums up to: Heavy Stocking 8000 Ltrs (1778 gals) Normal Stocking 12000 Ltrs (2667 gals) Water Throughput: 3500 Ltr./ h (778 gall/h) Dimensions: L: 680mm W: 680mm H: 1100mm so powerful until can maybe skim out the salt in saltwater to become freshwater just kidding Quote Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted March 26, 2004 Share Posted March 26, 2004 Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member patrick123 Posted March 26, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 26, 2004 [if money is no object, and you can spend as much as you want on a skimmer without making your house look like a giant protein skimmer] go for the deltec with 6 eheim needlewheel pumps.... ...i think cost about EUR3,699.00 ......means about SGD7,584.30 using 1 EUR = 2.05036 SGD since money is no object to you For Aquariums up to: Heavy Stocking 8000 Ltrs (1778 gals) Normal Stocking 12000 Ltrs (2667 gals) Water Throughput: 3500 Ltr./ h (778 gall/h) Dimensions: L: 680mm W: 680mm H: 1100mm so powerful until can maybe skim out the salt in saltwater to become freshwater just kidding No lah...I'm not saying money is no object for me. I'm just curious what is the best of the best in the market and how pricey will it be. Holy smoke....$7,500 for a protein skimmer.....I think my whole system also doesn't cost that much..... have to give it a miss. May be AT or Roidan can buy and we can go visit your place and "leow nwah" (drip saliva). hehehehe Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted March 26, 2004 Share Posted March 26, 2004 coz i read "money no object" mah...hehehe i'll buy this skimmer when i have a 12ft next time man.... i guess this deltec skimmer is one of the best of the best liao...wait a minute...i kinda remember there is still one higher model than this ..i dun think we need to know lah...really out of our reach to pay this kinda price for a skimmer Quote Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member patrick123 Posted March 26, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 26, 2004 Thanks bros.... Actually, I think H&S has a model like that with multiple needlewheel aquabee pump. I think the rating is like 1500L or something. Expensive stuff though. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted March 26, 2004 Share Posted March 26, 2004 i think the H&S one got 3....nowhere near the 6 pumps Quote Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Guinness Posted March 26, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 26, 2004 From a neutral standpoint, asking for opinions of 'the best' of any particular item is bound to generate way too many opinions. Even by branding, there are often times when a reputable brand comes out with something really crap or not good value. Over time, opinions and general ideas may also change (eg: At one time, skimmers were not even considered an essential piece of equiptment to some aquarists). Advancement in technology also will affect percieved values. Probably best way is to set a budget and minimum capacity required and then shop around. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Tigger Posted March 26, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 26, 2004 where is weipro??? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Chris Posted March 27, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 27, 2004 Tigger, Don't joke can...... I've been using the Schuren jetskim 120 for a while....quite good leh. Quote I think (marine) therefore I am Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member patrick123 Posted March 28, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 28, 2004 From a neutral standpoint, asking for opinions of 'the best' of any particular item is bound to generate way too many opinions. Even by branding, there are often times when a reputable brand comes out with something really crap or not good value. Over time, opinions and general ideas may also change (eg: At one time, skimmers were not even considered an essential piece of equiptment to some aquarists). Advancement in technology also will affect percieved values. Probably best way is to set a budget and minimum capacity required and then shop around. That's true. At one time, bioball in a wet/dry system is considered a must to remove nitrate. Look where bioballs are now? BTW, until today, I'm still not sure if bioball in a dry formation really removed nitrate. Cheers, Patrick Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted March 28, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 28, 2004 where's macro? Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ervine Posted March 28, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 28, 2004 [if money is no object, and you can spend as much as you want on a skimmer without making your house look like a giant protein skimmer] go for the deltec with 6 eheim needlewheel pumps.... ...i think cost about EUR3,699.00 ......means about SGD7,584.30 using 1 EUR = 2.05036 SGD since money is no object to you For Aquariums up to: Heavy Stocking 8000 Ltrs (1778 gals) Normal Stocking 12000 Ltrs (2667 gals) Water Throughput: 3500 Ltr./ h (778 gall/h) Dimensions: L: 680mm W: 680mm H: 1100mm so powerful until can maybe skim out the salt in saltwater to become freshwater just kidding Hm... i think you can probably DIY that with those 5gal water dispenser jar... hehe... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
alois Posted March 28, 2004 Share Posted March 28, 2004 what about DELTEC , I THOUGHT THEY WERE THE BEST SKIMMER Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted March 28, 2004 Share Posted March 28, 2004 they are not the best...for definitely up there amongst the best Quote Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
alois Posted March 31, 2004 Share Posted March 31, 2004 i have used a number of skimmers and deltec does seem to be one of the best in terms of quality built and performance. bit pricey Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Eric Posted March 31, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted March 31, 2004 they are not the best...for definitely up there amongst the best Will too good a skimmer remove away the trace elements in the water as well thus the need to top up every now and then........any opinion? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member mUAr_cHEe Posted July 14, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted July 14, 2005 take plastic straw... blow into one of the sump compartments... while taking a plastic cup trying to catch all the foam.... thats the best skimmer!!!!!!! seriously...... any continental needlewheel works for me!!!! cheaper and comparable results to beckett when seasoned.... Quote *translated from Hokkien* "If say no bang wall, this idiot will never ripen" - Mr Quah Siew Kow. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member barnacle Posted July 14, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted July 14, 2005 we guys dun blow........ Quote My Tank Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member kelstorm Posted July 14, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted July 14, 2005 i'm attracted to your avatar more than ur statement.. nevertheless, it is still pretty funny... now, back to ur avatar.. nice "barnacles"... Quote Let us work together to preserve the world for our children to inherit by being responsible to our surroundings. Take nothing but pictures, leave nothing but footprints, bubbles and memories. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member kueytoc Posted July 14, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted July 14, 2005 we guys dun blow........ Well U never know...with all the NATION rave parties goin' around these regions. ...'blowin' in the wind !' Hee hee hee. Quote WRASSEY REEF PARADISE 4ftx2.5ftx2.5ft SRC Site: Welcome to My World of WRASSEYS !!! CHUISUI Site: WRASSEY World of REEF Paradise !!! mio CAN-REEF Site: Wrassey World !!! SiamReefClub Site: WRASSEY MASTER Hyper ไฮเปà¸à¸£à¹Œ ; Silly Fools ; Labanoon ; I-Nam ไà¸à¸™à¹‰à¸³ ; Modern Dog ; Sirasak Ittipolpanish ; Annita - Nisita Pongsong Twin-CAMs Power Module ! ; MIO Dream Car ! ; MIO Alter-EGO ! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member kueytoc Posted July 14, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted July 14, 2005 i'm attracted to your avatar more than ur statement.. nevertheless, it is still pretty funny... now, back to ur avatar.. nice "barnacles"... Well it's a new model called 'Skimmer BUNS'...but not for the faint-hearted ! Quote WRASSEY REEF PARADISE 4ftx2.5ftx2.5ft SRC Site: Welcome to My World of WRASSEYS !!! CHUISUI Site: WRASSEY World of REEF Paradise !!! mio CAN-REEF Site: Wrassey World !!! SiamReefClub Site: WRASSEY MASTER Hyper ไฮเปà¸à¸£à¹Œ ; Silly Fools ; Labanoon ; I-Nam ไà¸à¸™à¹‰à¸³ ; Modern Dog ; Sirasak Ittipolpanish ; Annita - Nisita Pongsong Twin-CAMs Power Module ! ; MIO Dream Car ! ; MIO Alter-EGO ! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member barnacle Posted July 14, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted July 14, 2005 its skimmer BUNacles....... Quote My Tank Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member mUAr_cHEe Posted July 14, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted July 14, 2005 i prefer the flatter ones..... those kind on those rollerblade babes... wearing nothing but sport underwear.... Quote *translated from Hokkien* "If say no bang wall, this idiot will never ripen" - Mr Quah Siew Kow. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...