SRC Member jc85 Posted February 2, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 2, 2004 Hi Guys, Juz wondering those of u who DIY ur fan, how long does urs last be they failed? Mine start failing ard 2months. I haev 3 of them and are all PC fans. I suspect its the salt creep (spelling?) that is causing it to fail especially when I on and off it. Anyone has the same experience? Thks Quote Earth Conservation Blog My Marine Blog For All Sengkang Residents Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member maKo Posted February 2, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 2, 2004 I know I'm off topic but my PURCHASED aquarium fan lasted only 4 months. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member clowntrigger Posted February 2, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 2, 2004 I have been running my AC fan 7x24 for about 9 months, I have not encounter any failure yet.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Clownfish Posted February 2, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 2, 2004 i running 2 X PC fans for 5 mths liao... no prob Quote My Personal Blog My Wedding Website Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sherman Posted February 2, 2004 Share Posted February 2, 2004 I have mine running 7/24 for more than a year already Regards Quote 6.5 * 2 * 2 + 3.75 * 1.5 *1.5,(Decomn on 14/9/08) 4*2*2 + 2.5*1.25*1.25 (Decomn on 1/8/09) 5*2*2 (Fully LED light system, 140 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm) 2.5*2*2(Fully LED Light System,96 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm) 5*2.5*2(LED only) Eheim return 1 * pump 1 HP Daikin compressor with cooling coil 2 Jebao OW40, 1 ecotech MP40, 1X6085 Tunze wm, 1 CURVE 7 Skimmer 1 DIY 80 led control by Bluefish mini 1 radion XR30W G2, 2 Radion XR15G3 Sump area lite by 5 ft T5 , 6 * SSC 3 watt red LED for refugium 1 Full spectrum E27 led light 1 CR control by bubble count Start No Water Change since 1st Dec 2016 Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft [/quote] Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ah wa! Posted February 2, 2004 Share Posted February 2, 2004 I've five diy fans. Threee 80mm for the light hood and 2 X 6inches for the tank partition. All of them are on 24/7. the 80mm ones ran for around three yrs before stopping. The two 6inches fans have been running non-stop for two yrs and are still working. Surprised that your pc fans stopped after only a few months. Can't imagine a computer PSU's fan fail after three month running 24/7. That is an unacceptably short life=span. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member yazid Posted February 3, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 3, 2004 I have use AC fans (for aquarium with/glass clip) and have been running for 2 years and is still running. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member alanseah Posted February 3, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 3, 2004 Hi Guys, Juz wondering those of u who DIY ur fan, how long does urs last be they failed? Mine start failing ard 2months. I haev 3 of them and are all PC fans. I suspect its the salt creep (spelling?) that is causing it to fail especially when I on and off it. Anyone has the same experience? Thks let me ask u something.. where is your blowning of the fan facing.. your fan is blowning facing down to the water or blowing up... it's advisable to have the blowning facing down cause if you are blowning out you will cause alot salt flying in your house which you dont want also... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Lawrence Posted February 3, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 3, 2004 Dear All, May I ask where to get DIY fan? Thanks! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member aStRoBo| Posted February 3, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 3, 2004 Dear All, May I ask where to get DIY fan? Thanks! Sim lim.. PC shops.. LFS..blah blah.. Quote Everything's sold. Back in 2yrs time. If it's a WRX, it gotta be STI. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member alanseah Posted February 3, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 3, 2004 just go sim lim and buy those pc fan lor.. and then you wired it will do.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Jun Hong Posted February 3, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 3, 2004 Normally AC fan will last longer than DC fan due to their motor structure design. Those with engineering background will know why it is so. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member jc85 Posted February 3, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted February 3, 2004 let me ask u something.. where is your blowning of the fan facing.. your fan is blowning facing down to the water or blowing up... it's advisable to have the blowning facing down cause if you are blowning out you will cause alot salt flying in your house which you dont want also... I have mine blowing down to the water at angle. Quote Earth Conservation Blog My Marine Blog For All Sengkang Residents Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member calvin15 Posted February 7, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 7, 2004 Anyone king enough to help me DIY 2 x AC fan(for 2ft tank)? I'm really blur about electrical stuff, went Sim Lim to try get the fan only to get nearly chop by the shop. they quot eme $25 for one AC fan. Pls pls, really hope someone can help me here. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted February 7, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 7, 2004 hey calvin, can help you DIY, you bought the fans already? I can help you do the paralell connection. but will look very messy IMO. maybe someone can do it for u neater. hey jc85 what is that stand that you're using to mount your fan??? Where to get?? I want that... I have two AC fans mounted very awkwardly... would like to know how your mounting your fans.. Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member calvin15 Posted February 7, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 7, 2004 hey calvin, can help you DIY, you bought the fans already? I can help you do the paralell connection. but will look very messy IMO. maybe someone can do it for u neater. hey jc85 what is that stand that you're using to mount your fan??? Where to get?? I want that... I have two AC fans mounted very awkwardly... would like to know how your mounting your fans.. nope, haven't get the stuff as i dunno wat to get in the first place. can u help me? i really hopeless when comes to such things. u tell me wat to get then i go get liao, i look for u...can? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted February 7, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 7, 2004 how many fans you wanna connect?? MOre than one right?? If you just need to connect one very simple only dun need my help even. But if more than one maybe need. You just get the number of fans you want. then about 5 metres of wire?? wire connecters and 3 pin plug. If you want, I have 6 wire connecters left, but dunno enough or not. Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member calvin15 Posted February 7, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 7, 2004 how many fans you wanna connect?? MOre than one right?? If you just need to connect one very simple only dun need my help even. But if more than one maybe need. You just get the number of fans you want. then about 5 metres of wire?? wire connecters and 3 pin plug. If you want, I have 6 wire connecters left, but dunno enough or not. i'm connecting 2 AC fans. so i'll get all the neccessary. how about transformer? do i need tat? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted February 7, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 7, 2004 nope no need. Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted February 7, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 7, 2004 unless the fans state that they work in different voltage.. Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member calvin15 Posted February 7, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 7, 2004 ok..great. will get all the stuff and look for u then. thanks so much Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted February 7, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 7, 2004 no problem Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sherman Posted February 8, 2004 Share Posted February 8, 2004 Went Down SLS yesterday. AC fan is around S$15. FYI Regards Quote 6.5 * 2 * 2 + 3.75 * 1.5 *1.5,(Decomn on 14/9/08) 4*2*2 + 2.5*1.25*1.25 (Decomn on 1/8/09) 5*2*2 (Fully LED light system, 140 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm) 2.5*2*2(Fully LED Light System,96 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm) 5*2.5*2(LED only) Eheim return 1 * pump 1 HP Daikin compressor with cooling coil 2 Jebao OW40, 1 ecotech MP40, 1X6085 Tunze wm, 1 CURVE 7 Skimmer 1 DIY 80 led control by Bluefish mini 1 radion XR30W G2, 2 Radion XR15G3 Sump area lite by 5 ft T5 , 6 * SSC 3 watt red LED for refugium 1 Full spectrum E27 led light 1 CR control by bubble count Start No Water Change since 1st Dec 2016 Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft [/quote] Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member jc85 Posted February 8, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted February 8, 2004 hey calvin, can help you DIY, you bought the fans already? I can help you do the paralell connection. but will look very messy IMO. maybe someone can do it for u neater. hey jc85 what is that stand that you're using to mount your fan??? Where to get?? I want that... I have two AC fans mounted very awkwardly... would like to know how your mounting your fans.. My mounting? I juz use 2 piece of plastic (those Luohan separator)and drill hole in them. Then used cable tie to secure the fans on the plastic. Mine are those 4" x 4' DC fans. Quote Earth Conservation Blog My Marine Blog For All Sengkang Residents Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
djarth Posted February 8, 2004 Share Posted February 8, 2004 How bout adding those toilet ventilation fans? Anybody tried...def more power then comp fans Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...