ID this goby...

Bought at $5 from reb*rN....I bought 2...but now left 1..the other one vanished with another goby of mine. Think they got trapped under my UG plate and could'nt find a way out.

Yashia white ray shrimp goby, saw 1 at Pasir Ris farm (Ah beng) last week selling at $25. Only 2 to 4 pieces per shipment.

Not so easy to keep, have kept 4 of this goby but all die with 2 months. Is only ideal for matured tank and crab free tank with few fishes inorder to provide food to them. Will only wait for food to come.

Used to have 2 of this Yashia White Rays with me....

And its great watching it develop a relationship with some of the pistols in my reef.... only issue is that within months ... they disappeared..... (think its the darn crabs ion my reef)

Aprt from being torn apart by pests, don't really consider them difficult to keep as they take readily to froxen food stuffs....

like the way they hover in mid water waiting for floating pieces of mysis to pass by them...

IMO, shrimps like such are only of much good in Nano and smaller reefs.... its easier to spot them.... they also tend to develop a liking to certain locations where they would stay and only wonder mere distances to get their feed....

For those who are keen to acquire such specimens, think it would be better if you seek the more prominent LFS out and get them to bring in such specimens for you as I noticed that only a few of such have been spotted so far in LFS and many times in small quantities....

I got my pair from SeaLife....

But if not regular in any LFS... It would be difficult to ask them to bring in rare fishes... Kinda pai seh... :paiseh: Was intending to keep them in my nano first before shifting to my 4ft when the tank is ready... So they will get lost in a big tank huh.. Btw joe... How much you bought them at...

Yashias are quite common, give it some time, it'll come by again

Besides, the farm operators and LFSs are monitoring the forum (they'd be dumb if they don't as SRC is the single best source of market demand information)

Anyway, if we generate enough interest in them, they'll flood the market soon enough.

The latest examples are the cleaners and coco worms :)

Yashias are quite common, give it some time, it'll come by again

Besides, the farm operators and LFSs are monitoring the forum (they'd be dumb if they don't as SRC is the single best source of market demand information)

Anyway, if we generate enough interest in them, they'll flood the market soon enough.

The latest examples are the cleaners and coco worms :)

Darn, I think I have been missin out too much on farm and LFS visitation....

The Yashias are common??? :huh:

Cos if they are, I would like to acquire another 2 specimens for my reef..... ;)