Gideon Posted May 19, 2013 Share Posted May 19, 2013 hahaha.. agree. lot of man hours. you need to put your heart on the tank. If you love it , you will not mind how many hrs and money you spend on this hobby. You will enjoy the corals and fishes in your tank growing bigger and healthy. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member nicreef Posted May 20, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted May 20, 2013 as at my post, 5 big boss Who voted for: Above $1000 nicreef, AngGuKueh, thairun, sunny03, MarcoVan not big boss....is coz of below (and bro privacy lei later Wifey or Gf see how... ;p ) they must be busy starting new project every month! new reefer mah....started with 2 ft tank on table...realize need sump spend money buy ovevrflow etc..den chiller etc...finally expecting to spend less liao but gave in to darker side and going to cheong new tank... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member nicreef Posted May 20, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted May 20, 2013 bottom line for new reefer ish plan nice nice...dun like me spend money on lousy skimmer den got to upgrade or buy lousy lights den realize cannot keep lps and softies etc... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happy13 Posted May 20, 2013 Author Share Posted May 20, 2013 Actually best is do planning, and always go for the best which you can afford. Coz eventually you will need to upgrade and upgrade and end up paying much more... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MarcoVan Posted May 21, 2013 Share Posted May 21, 2013 Actually best is do planning, and always go for the best which you can afford. Coz eventually you will need to upgrade and upgrade and end up paying much more... +1. Quote Happy Reefing, Marc J. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keith khoo Posted June 28, 2013 Share Posted June 28, 2013 1 week $50 ,1 month $200 . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Admiraltian Posted June 28, 2013 Share Posted June 28, 2013 1 week $50 ,1 month $200 . Welcome to this hobby!! Quote Display Tank : 36" x 20" x 20" Herbie overflow box design, Sump : 36" x 21" x 17", Frag Tank : 16” x 20” x 16”, custom built by Tank Culture. Lightings : Ecotech Radion XR15 Pro x 2 for Main Display Tank, Inled R80 x 1 for Frag Tank. Chiller : Dalkin 1hp compressor with build-in drop coil. Skimmer : Skimz Octa SC205i Protein Skimmer. FR : H2Ocean FMR75 Fluidised Media Reactor with Hailea HX-2500 (Feeder Pump) running Rowaphos. CR : Skimz Monzter E Series CM122 Calcium Reactor. BPR: Marine Source Biopellet Reactor with Continuum Reef Biopellet Fuel. Main Return Pump : SICCE Syncra ADV 9.0 & Jebao ACQ-10000 Water Pump. Wavemaker : Jebao MOW-9 x2 for Main Display Tank & Jebao SLW-20M Sine Wave Pump for Frag Tank. Water Top Up: AutoAqua Smart ATO Lite. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member brojj Posted June 29, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted June 29, 2013 Around $200 per month. Excluding extra electricity incurred. FOWLR would be much more affordable. Wat to do, hooked onto corals. Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member LfcCta Posted July 2, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted July 2, 2013 Really don't dare to count, at least $600/month Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member tropic Posted July 3, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted July 3, 2013 Time is money. I spent alot of time so same as I spend money ...haha Sent from my Android using Tapatalk2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member woyeng** Posted July 3, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted July 3, 2013 Perhaps another way of looking at this is at what stage do you spend how much At beginner stage with all the mis-steps, LS losses, equipment changes, etc. At intermediate stage where u hunger and thirst for the better and more beautiful... At advanced stage where u want to upgrade and hunger and thirst for the best and most beautiful... : : : .. then maybe there may come a time when things are not too well.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sheristopher Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 Just spend according to one mean. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Endorrachua Posted July 13, 2013 Share Posted July 13, 2013 weekly abt 100 exclude utilities bill Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tks 13 Posted July 13, 2013 Share Posted July 13, 2013 No point to count once u engage to it lol 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
alexcyf Posted July 14, 2013 Share Posted July 14, 2013 This topic is causing to do some reflection about impulsive expenditure... 1 Quote Follow Alex's Reefing Journey @ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member DottyClown Posted July 15, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted July 15, 2013 Should plan & think carefully before starting. This hobby does not just require money & time, but it also requires responsibility. These are after-all lifes that are in your hands. Be it a $1 fish or $100 fish, it is still a life and should be well taken care of, should you decide to start the hobby. Reef safe, reef happy Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member mafacifa Posted July 26, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted July 26, 2013 slowly climbing the $$.. thanks to the pasar malam thread. can save a few $$ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
spgohjc Posted September 30, 2013 Share Posted September 30, 2013 You only live once. Just whack lah. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
VelvetAirwaves Posted September 30, 2013 Share Posted September 30, 2013 You only live once. Just whack lah. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free I totally agree hahahaha Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluewind79 Posted October 12, 2013 Share Posted October 12, 2013 Know what u need and get what u can afford...read and understand b4 u buy...otherwise spend a lot of unnecessary $$ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Uptempo Posted October 20, 2013 Share Posted October 20, 2013 Planning is key. invest smartly during the startup then the upgrade cost can be reduced. plus pasar malam helps a lot. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member flo_reeftank Posted October 20, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted October 20, 2013 I think i spend between 350 to 600$ ( starting invest to rare fishes ) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fukcable Fcuker Posted December 19, 2013 Share Posted December 19, 2013 Around $ 300 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leong_varian Posted January 5, 2014 Share Posted January 5, 2014 I brought used tank set 422 incl. skimmer + return ehiem 1263 + T5 light for 700. YT, sail fin, fox face for 60. Top NSW and add sand, buy LR..all near to 1K Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leong_varian Posted January 5, 2014 Share Posted January 5, 2014 Thinking of keeping only fishes .. so intend not to use chiller to cut electrical bill. Btw return pump 1262 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...