Morgan Posted January 19, 2003 Share Posted January 19, 2003 Spiff came to my place to trade frags yesterday. See the pictures of the frags I got from him. This is a nice piece. Brown but turns purple-pink under radium. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Morgan Posted January 19, 2003 Author Share Posted January 19, 2003 Second pic Brown with green polyps Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Morgan Posted January 19, 2003 Author Share Posted January 19, 2003 Same as the second pic. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Morgan Posted January 19, 2003 Author Share Posted January 19, 2003 Last pic Dark brown staghorn, hope it will colour up. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member mv3i Posted January 19, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted January 19, 2003 hey morgan , think i kena the SPS poison by you and phang and rest of the SPS liao ..... lovely frags .... when my SPS tank ready .... can i frag from you Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Tanzy Posted January 19, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted January 19, 2003 mv3i, Those frags won't be ready until at least a year. Quote Warning: Heavy handed moderator in operation. Threads and post are liable to be deleted or moved without prior notification. Moderator's prerogative will be enforced. Any grievances or complains should be addressed to The Administrator. http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/uploads/post-36-1073276974.gif Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rrrobt Posted January 19, 2003 Share Posted January 19, 2003 i have said i love sps but is so hard to find and if you want to frag you have to wait for 1 year that is every one is fast if not fast 1 and 1/2 year, by than your tank is empty , no choice have to keep lps Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Phang Posted January 20, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted January 20, 2003 Rrobert, place your reef specs in the SPS reefers thread... You will be remembered if there are frag trades/frag sales ....... And Spiff definitley have some good SPS....... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member yazid Posted January 20, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted January 20, 2003 Rrobert, place your reef specs in the SPS reefers thread... You will be remembered if there are frag trades/frag sales ....... And Spiff definitley have some good SPS....... Since I have no frag to trade. I'm willing to buy a frag. Anyone selling a frag yet? I'll be first in the list to buy. Unless you want trade with a rare blastomussa. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achilles Tang Posted January 20, 2003 Share Posted January 20, 2003 Guys, Before you get acros or sps for your tanks, I suggest you read up more on them. They are a very demanding species, and you have to cater for every aspect of care for them eg. good lighting, good water quality via skimming via low phosphate, no2 no3 etc, turbulent water circulation, high and consistent calcium, alk, ph etc. Acros can RTN very easily... and could spread in an instant. It could take less than 30 minutes to see that your tank of SPS have turned into white skeletons. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member mv3i Posted January 20, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted January 20, 2003 thanks ... that's why i'm in line for frags for next yr !! takes me about another yr to setup and READ up and prepare for the SPS tank ... i don't mean in the near 6 mths lah !!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Tanzy Posted January 20, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted January 20, 2003 A comment on all the frags: They don't seem to have a growing axial corallite. Light insufficient in previous tank? Quote Warning: Heavy handed moderator in operation. Threads and post are liable to be deleted or moved without prior notification. Moderator's prerogative will be enforced. Any grievances or complains should be addressed to The Administrator. http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/uploads/post-36-1073276974.gif Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achilles Tang Posted January 20, 2003 Share Posted January 20, 2003 Great! That shows responsible reef-keeping and self-discipline! You should have no problems later when it comes to SPS keeping next time... and oops, I left out consistent (low) water temperatures in SPS tanks... so I hope you guys would have good chillers! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achilles Tang Posted January 20, 2003 Share Posted January 20, 2003 A comment on all the frags: They don't seem to have a growing axial corallite. Light insufficient in previous tank? Good point. Morgan's tank doesn't get consistent sunlight exposure. With the new layout ie top shelve for frag growout... he should see new growth soon, I hope! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Phang Posted January 20, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted January 20, 2003 A comment on all the frags: They don't seem to have a growing axial corallite. Light insufficient in previous tank? Growing axial corallite????.... you are referring to new axial growth at the tips of main body which is normally different in colour from the rest of the body... Mainly white in colour......right? the main colony in previous owners reef are growing ....... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Morgan Posted January 20, 2003 Author Share Posted January 20, 2003 The frags I got are not showing any growth. Will let you guys know whether or not the frags grow. Be posting pics. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member spiff Posted January 20, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted January 20, 2003 morgan the pink table is a real slow grower. maybe my tank not enuff light tts y turned brown. but the rest r very fast growers especially my millepora. got a couple of growth pics jan 2002 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Morgan Posted January 20, 2003 Author Share Posted January 20, 2003 Hi spiff The pink table has a purple pink tint colour under radium. Not so brown. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member spiff Posted January 20, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted January 20, 2003 march 2002 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member spiff Posted January 20, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted January 20, 2003 oct 2002 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Tanzy Posted January 20, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted January 20, 2003 Looks like a fast grower. Should have lots of it to go around in 6 months time. Quote Warning: Heavy handed moderator in operation. Threads and post are liable to be deleted or moved without prior notification. Moderator's prerogative will be enforced. Any grievances or complains should be addressed to The Administrator. http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/uploads/post-36-1073276974.gif Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member mv3i Posted January 20, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted January 20, 2003 really fast grower !!! just checking ... what's you lighting like spiff ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member spiff Posted January 20, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted January 20, 2003 2x 150w DE. bulb is blv/ushio 10k Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member mv3i Posted January 20, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted January 20, 2003 oh ... forgot to ask ... how big is your tank ??? .... was thinking of starting with 1 or 2 SPS frags and placing right at the top ... under the light source ... dunno will the SPS survive in the first place ???? let alone blossom !!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member spiff Posted January 20, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted January 20, 2003 tiny tank. 3ft only. 150w DE can la......... the par is jus as gd as most 250w SE, except iwasaki lah Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...