Where to get NSW?

reeferGrower

seawater can be gd.... :D

but must see where it's from lah....

water from coral reef shld be at optimum levels.... but water from Singapore beaches.... hehheh

thats the problem, we never know where the seasalt come from and what it has gone through. Even the shop owners themselves may not know. You may think the seasalt from XX shop is good now but can you confirm its good every batch?

With salt mix, I can say the standard is always there. There's even salt mix which includes traces of elements which is beneficial to LSs.

The main thing about sea water is where they come from. They are not about to go to the deep sea just to collect good sea water for you for such a small fee. Most of the water collected is near our shores. And because of that, contains lotsa waste from ships, beaches, sewage etc.... plus so many ships passing the straits of malacca produce lotsa waste material like shit, oil etc....

So what you are buying is not exactly natural sea water. You need to go to the south china sea for that. <_<

thats the problem, we never know where the seasalt come from and what it has gone through. Even the shop owners themselves may not know. You may think the seasalt from XX shop is good now but can you confirm its good every batch?

With salt mix, I can say the standard is always there. There's even salt mix which includes traces of elements which is beneficial to LSs.

you mean sea water come from right?? :whistle

opps... I mean seawater.. :P

The neo tiew farm sells NSW. They filter and cycle the water before selling. They won't sell if its not ready. I also saw them add stuff to it and testing the water parameters.

Then it wont be natural sea water any more right?? And what stuff do they add?? I jnow most of the LFS here add medication in the seawater they use to prevent disease but wonderif they are reef safe. If you filter the sea water, what kind of filter?? just normal filter wool is no sufficient at all. If you filter out all the stuff in the sea water, what the difference in using salt mix?? as all the beneficial stuff will be filter out as well.. :(

I have no idea wat they add!! :fear: IMO mixing your own is so much more convenient then lugging the huge container around, not to mention the long drive there.

hMm.. IMO, sea water dun really work better than ur own mixed salt water.Cos u nv noe where they got the seawater from... And it's very HEAVY to take home litres of water.. suey suey burst in ur car den hor say.. :angel:

I should know from experience. For one year, I was lugging 6 x 25L plastic jerry cans in the back of my SUV from Kranji to central every fortnight, and for a short time, every week as I was trying to lessen my nitrate buildup. I switched to marine salt 3 weeks ago. There was an initial negative reaction (some hard coral started receeding and a clam kaput) but I am not sure this is coincidentally a reaction to the high nitrate levels (>40) to to the new the synthetic salt mix.

However, I'm gonna persevere and hopefully see some improvement in the overall health of the tank as I put PO4 and NO3 reducing measures in place.

Agreed. It's so easily dissolved - like Eno.

sounds familiar.. is this the one with the dual phase? I've tried using it and it really dissolves.. close to none residue.. Not like the Kent sea salt I'm currently using <_<