SRC Member Evolutionz Posted February 9, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted February 9, 2013 how about bi-color blenny? Quote EvolutionZ's Floating Reef: (Decommed) EvolutionZ's 4ft shallow Mixed Reef Build : Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tian85 Posted February 10, 2013 Share Posted February 10, 2013 I am using snails and just bought Hector's goby. Hope this goby can help clear up some algae. Bro, where you got the goby? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
julius Posted February 12, 2013 Share Posted February 12, 2013 Ah Beng has both rainford's and Hector's gobies. Call before going Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rainmalawi Posted February 13, 2013 Share Posted February 13, 2013 Bro, where you got the goby? Got it from Ah Beng at Pasir Ris Farm. My hector's goby is eating algae off the rocks. But because the fish is pretty small, I guess it may not be of much help. And my hector will fight with my rainford which is very similar in appearance. Therefore, I think the hector will fight their own kind so keeping more than one to eat up some algae may not be feasible. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Evolutionz Posted February 13, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted February 13, 2013 how big are they? good for my 34L tank? anyone tried bi-color blenny? Quote EvolutionZ's Floating Reef: (Decommed) EvolutionZ's 4ft shallow Mixed Reef Build : Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rainmalawi Posted February 16, 2013 Share Posted February 16, 2013 My Hector goby about 2 inches in length. I put it in my 4 ft tank and can see it picking off algae everyday. Again, the rate of picking algae may not be fast enough for such a small fish. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CY2010 Posted February 17, 2013 Share Posted February 17, 2013 Can try seahare n small urchin as well. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cruzer Posted March 1, 2013 Share Posted March 1, 2013 I find yellow tang very useful in clearing algae. Cleared most of the hair algae on my tank within a week. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelvin81 Posted March 1, 2013 Share Posted March 1, 2013 Agreed on yellow tang. But must get the hawaii yellow tang. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Venezia Posted March 8, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted March 8, 2013 abalones need cooler water to thrive Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rudy17 Posted March 9, 2013 Share Posted March 9, 2013 Snails are the best, followed by cleaner shrimps! Quote Moorish Idol has to be the most beautiful fish ever! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member artxakis Posted March 10, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted March 10, 2013 for my 3 ft tank i think those purple turban shape snails does a lot of work on my glass walls. the long mouth snails seems pretty slow n useless. i got an abalone its also working hard but really slow n it will alone appear once in awhile. the best one dat sifts my sand bed is the greyish black striped starfish. better than the red or snake looking type Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Evolutionz Posted March 11, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted March 11, 2013 i have 2 asterae snails in my 34L tank and its been cleaning up brown algae in my tank very well.. one even got to the extend of climbing on to the output flow of my hang on filter and eat all the brown algae there within 2 days.. at first i was still worried why it decided to climb so high up.. Quote EvolutionZ's Floating Reef: (Decommed) EvolutionZ's 4ft shallow Mixed Reef Build : Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
metaphor89 Posted July 21, 2013 Share Posted July 21, 2013 My hermit crab doesnt touch my snails..maybe i am lucky =D, i am facing hair algae issue too, tinking of getting algae blenny izit good? or hector goby better? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
smallbutmighty Posted July 22, 2013 Share Posted July 22, 2013 Hmm my hector goby eat the zoe coral... He bite till a hole liao.. Sent from my GT-N7105 using Tapatalk 4 Beta Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evomclaren Posted July 22, 2013 Share Posted July 22, 2013 my turbo snails does the job so far no algae bloom Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Endorrachua Posted July 25, 2013 Share Posted July 25, 2013 agreeable, turbo snail damn deligence workers. put 3 into my tanks, cleaned up my rocks sweeswee in 2 days time. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member tropic Posted July 25, 2013 SRC Member Share Posted July 25, 2013 I dont have much luck with snails. Always ended up dead within a short period. Sent from my Android using Tapatalk2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
metaphor89 Posted August 11, 2013 Share Posted August 11, 2013 i got a algae blenny.. but i dun see it eating any hair algae on my liverock.. it had been there for 2 week plus le, i dun feed it even.. duno wat it ate..lol Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gambitz Posted August 24, 2013 Share Posted August 24, 2013 blenny's is not reef safe? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blusafe Posted August 27, 2013 Share Posted August 27, 2013 For micro-algae use pods, lots of pods. They do not mess around when cleaning glass if you don't mid having little white critters everywhere. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...