DeepBlue Posted January 25, 2004 Share Posted January 25, 2004 Was looking at my coco worm just now, aitah, oh pai liaoz...(turn bad in hokkien), learning to smoke... anybody know what's happening?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member BarraCudaTM Posted January 25, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 25, 2004 making new worms Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
madmax Posted January 25, 2004 Share Posted January 25, 2004 Looks as if the worm is spawning. You must have good water parameters to induce it to spawn. Else it must be the lunar phase. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DeepBlue Posted January 25, 2004 Author Share Posted January 25, 2004 I wonder....hmmmm.....both mu coco did the same thing..they are about 5 cm apart...mating call???? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Golden Tooth Posted January 25, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 25, 2004 Spawn? Congrats.. Quote Bevor Sie das Licht sehen, müssen Sie sterben! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member blacknails Posted January 25, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 25, 2004 Yeah.. congrats.. Maybe you'll see baby coco worms all over the place soon.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted January 25, 2004 Share Posted January 25, 2004 Yea..it feels horny alright... Just like this...... =x Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ben Posted January 25, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 25, 2004 wow! congrats! Happy to hear that too Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanky® Posted January 25, 2004 Share Posted January 25, 2004 I got this too.. Anyone confirm wat is happenin? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achilles Tang Posted January 25, 2004 Share Posted January 25, 2004 Huh? It's the same thing happening. Spawning. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Jun Hong Posted January 26, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 26, 2004 What a coincident!!! My Coco worm is also spawning during Chinese New Year. Is Lunar New Year spawning season for Coco worm ??? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Jun Hong Posted January 26, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 26, 2004 BTW, I read some reefers said that Spawning of Coco worm will pollute the water. So do I need to do any water change? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ervine Posted January 26, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 26, 2004 No need to change lah... a little bit of protein in the water only.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Jun Hong Posted January 26, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 26, 2004 Is the white stuff eggs or sperm?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Golf Posted January 26, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 26, 2004 Hey Bros ! Both of my CoCo worms "smokes - spawning" once a week, for the last 4~5 weeks liao. But dun see any baby Coco worms leh....anyone know how long does it take a "hatch" ? Best regards, Golf Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Nickel Posted January 26, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 26, 2004 Congrats....just in time for the 'baby bonus' to be announced shortly. BTW, how did the 2 worms get into the same tube ? Were they there all the while ? Maybe must put my 2 closer and the 'hum-sap' (cantonese for horny) one will creep into the other's tube after lights off. Wonder got male/female or not ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
triggerpuff Posted January 26, 2004 Share Posted January 26, 2004 I witnessed the same thing on CNY 2nd day! except that it came from a spot from the rock which houses my colony of hairy mushrooms. Dun think it is the mushroom itself - still couldnt figure out where exactly it came from. Same phenomenon - continuous release of sperm (since u guys said it is spawning) for close to 10 min. Got me worried for a while for fear that it was poisonous and will kill all LS in the tank. Was on the edge of calling for some immediate professional help on the SRC - something like dialing 995 !! Of course the squirting subsided and I continued with my dinner. LS still ok..... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member dradttg Posted January 26, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 26, 2004 Did anyone of you turn off your skimmer or filter?? Could the whatever been skimmed or filtered away? Hence, you do not see new generation of coco. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DeepBlue Posted January 26, 2004 Author Share Posted January 26, 2004 its OK....not that keen about spawning stuffs in my tank, most prob kana skim away liaoz...veri close to my overflow Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member blacknails Posted January 26, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 26, 2004 Ahh.. So we discovered that this is the time of the year that Coco Worms spawn... Congrats to all the owners of horny worms in here.. whether or not you see new babies.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blueheaven Posted January 26, 2004 Share Posted January 26, 2004 maybe can go sell when the spawn are big enough.$$$$$$$ Quote But if you tame me, we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I shall be unique in all the world... You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed. -Antoine de Saint-Exupery Keep our hobby sustainable, participate in fragging NOW CHAETO Farmer Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Golf Posted January 26, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 26, 2004 Aiyah......I didn't switch-off my skimmer and filters. Cos' I was worried when my water turn very cloudy due to CoCo worms "smoking"...didn;t know it was spawning leh. Next time, I will switch off all my skimmer and filters for at least one hour. Is it long enough ? Thanks, Golf Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member eprouve Posted January 26, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 26, 2004 Mine was in the refugium, post skimming. Only some hitched onto rocks... the baby cocos are still very small... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member eprouve Posted January 26, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 26, 2004 and here are the babies, taken recently. they are still in the refugium. They take forever to get big. Sigh... so no hope of big $ anytime soon. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member kschew1498 Posted January 26, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 26, 2004 wow so interesting.....must get one....but must find a place first!!! Mine is a 2 footer.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...