Will You Be Furios If...

Will you be furious if you bring back fishes that cost $60 from a LFS and was doing drip acclimation at 1 drop per sec and not even half an hour, and the fish died? When u call back the shop, the shop doesn't want to replace it but only offer discount? I'am very furious with this shop for lying to my brother and say all can. Personally, i went to the shop, they too say all can, all very easy but after doing research, not all they say are true. All my fishes are healthy, not even white spot can be seen on my blue tang (very sensitive). And they start blaming it on SHOCK, the purpose of drip acclimating is to reduce shock before introducing it into main tank.With 1 Drip per sec, what shock is there? Keep asking the shop, they still say shock. I'm condeming this shop for the rest of my life. I hope they go out of business and stop Con-in people.

Teh'sTankSetup Decomm on 18/8/2012

Tank: 2x1x1 Rimless Tank (Sumpless)

Lighting: Aquazonic 2x24watts T5 (Actinic x Sun White)

Moonlight: Acardia 1W Led Light (Blue)

Filter: ISTA Max Care Cannister

Skimmer: Bubble Magus E3

Chiller: Resun CL450 (Aquazonic Evo Pump)

Wave: Boyu WM-25

Commissioned 20/9/2012

Tank: 3x2x2.5

Lighting: 250w DeLighting MH/ 2x 39w Delighting Diy T5 ATI Blue Plus

Skimmer: H&S Skimmer Type 110-F2000

Chiller: CL450 (Aquazonic Evo Pump)

Return Pump: Eheim 1260

Reactor: D&D H2Ocean FMR 75 (ADA 1500 Pump)(Rowaphos)

Wavemaker: 2x SunSun Wavemaker (3000L)

Incoming:

Conch ll Basic

ATO System/Tunze Osmolator

Magic Marine 3CH Dosing Pump

It's normal dude... for them to sell the fish, they Haf to say easy.. it depends on wat standard u are viewing it at.. to an expert reefer, Mabb it's easy... this is business strategy...

All we reefers can do is we can read up on that fish and experiences before we buy...

Just like modding car, scared dun mod, mod dun scared...

My 3ft tank

Dimension --> 3ftx1.5ftx2ft

Ehiem 1262 return

Ehiem 1260

Artica 1/5hp Chiller

Tunze 6055 + 7091 single controller

EcoTech Marine Vortech MP40W

Royal Exclusive Mini BubbleKing 160

Lumenarc 250watt 10K BLV

02x Giesemann T5 39watt (blue + Actinic)

Deltec 501 CR

I have exactly the same experience with a local lfs....I called them and they say he same thing...so fed up...that's is the reason that I no longer buy fish from lfs...only from fellow reefer..

-
5x1.5x2ft Tank

5x2.5x2 Full Height Tank

I think we should not blaming them.. what they said is not always true. Just dont buy it when u see if they doing quarantine. They are making business. We should be the ones to find out the wat fish is easy to keep.. not buying blindly. As u like the fish then u buy, we should do research before buying.. And also know how to look at a healthy fish. Buying a fish is like a gamble 50% die 50% live.

Tank Theme: Mixed Reef with clams

3 feet tank with IOS

Eheim 1262

K3 wavemaker x1

Lightings: T5 actinic blue x4 , T5 white x4

Skimmer: BMQQ

Artica 1/5

Dosing: NA

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Reefing is sharing. People with rotten mouth is sure a loser for life as expected. When a tomato gets rotten, you can nvr save it.. Throw it away before it infect the good ones.

Sorry i cant reveal LFS name here.. but i think most reefers will know where.. really really frustrated with them

Commissioned 20/9/2012

Incoming:

Conch ll Basic

I disagree ..

Nobody can predict anything that is of Life Form going thru various types of conditions and environment including it's existing health condition.

It is not an Electronic Product that the vendor can offer you a guarantee ..

YOur Shop is nice to offer discount. I am sure others have no time to entertain such situations ...

I kanna before too .. Bo Pian .. have to let it go and buy another piece.

Stay Chill ya ........

Definitely been there before. Thats why I am sooooo hesitant to buy fishes unless from the most respected LFS.

And I am still scare to buy expensive fishes...

Regards,
Jeff

Aquarium: 48" x 18" x 24" tank with 24" x 15" x 15" sump (approx. 150 gallons)
Equipment: Maxspect Razor 320W, Vortech MP40, Vertex Omega 180i, Eheim 1262 return pump, Hailea HS 66A, Bacteria King
Fish and coral food: Henry's Reefgourmet pellets, Preis coral energizer, Kent Marine PhytoPlex, Brightwell Reef Snow, Two-Little Fishies Marine Snow
Dosage: Triton Elements

IMG_0562small.jpg

wow.. good law... but too bad.. too early

Commissioned 20/9/2012

Incoming:

Conch ll Basic

It's hard to pin point whose fault when buying new fishes. if u buy fishes that just arrived, higher chances that it will not survive. Hence I prefer to buy fishes that arrived 1-2weeks ago & feeding, unless very rare & u don't want to miss it.

Having said this, after 15-30mins temperature climatisation, it is very important that before you open the bag u got to aware how long has the fish been in the bag & how much water is in the bag.

If time is long & little water, the drip method is actually bad for the fish. The ammonia built up will become toxic when comes into contact with the fresh air when the bag is open. Hence, u may wanna do a quick 50% water change ( pour 50% out & replace 50% w your tank water) before cotinuing w the drip for full climatisation.

powder blue n blonde naso

Commissioned 20/9/2012

Incoming:

Conch ll Basic

oh yeah the lemon law, in future how is this going to affect our LS purchases from LFS? Anyone can help explain? thanks

2 Feet Tank: (Decom Feb 2015)
-Lightings : Pharos LED light 90W with wireless controller
-Chiller : Arctica 1/10HP with H2Ocean Flow Pump 2000

-Wavemaker : Vortech MP10ES
-Skimmer : Bubble Magus NAC 3.5

-Return Pump : Eheim Compact 3000
-Reactor – TLF150 (Mod) with NP Biopellet
-Reactor – TLF150 with Rowaphos

Only tomorrow onwards then can buy ls? =(

Still very touchy issue as it is tough to prove that fish is sick in the shop. If we know that, why would we even choose it in the first place? Shop owners can always say our water parameters are wrong, our shipping method is bad (eg. Fish bag got knocked till fish concuss), etc.

It is something good but believe there are black sheep who will take the opportunity to abuse it.if there are many blacksheep in this community,then think many lfses will close down.just imagine yr tank will alwags get coral or fish exchange within 6 months and no need to spend money.

Lemon law applies to consumer product but the definition needs clear exhaustive explanation. ImO, going back to lfs to ask for fish exchange after one brought back home is rather hard to swallow. Just imagine u are the owner. However, if there is misrepresentation and overpromise, i believe there is Case to surface. Seems like there are a few who suffered the same fate.do a collective effort and feedback to through proper channel.

i once tried my luck and successful because the fish dropped on the floor while packing. But this has to thank my friend as withiut his help, i will have to bite the bullet also.

All the best.

Time for CASE to work. Hope no more NATO.

Maybe they should decrease to 3 months for cats and dogs... 1 month for fisheries... In my case, not even 30mins.. when i found my fish died during acclimation...

BTW i dont even think fish will die that fast even if it went into shock...

Commissioned 20/9/2012

Incoming:

Conch ll Basic

Personal take is depending on the species, my personal experience for some is yes, if the fish is stress and kena shock, it can die pretty fast however, unlikely during aclimization. For shrimp, yes, it is almost immediate...

Many would agree that livestock at times died without vissible reason and then all will attribute this to poisoning or internal parasite. Hence lemon law may not be 100 percent applicable. We have been taught no one best solution suits all but very often we see one policy being roll out without being studied hard enough. I am interested to see how this lemon law will progress and learn. If I am not wrong, supermarket is facing hard time on this as they need vendors support but many are still in discussion and refuse to sign the agreement to back them up. Hopefully this law will bring benefit but not jet up price to ensure coverage of such exchange in future. If this is so, it didn't benefit us as we will be paying high to benefit those black sheep.

Maybe they should decrease to 3 months for cats and dogs... 1 month for fisheries... In my case, not even 30mins.. when i found my fish died during acclimation...

BTW i dont even think fish will die that fast even if it went into shock...

Put in my tank first la... :yeah:

Member of :

MASS in Facebook

Reefing in LED

Even though i'm new but i agree that some lfs in Singapore also say this can that can. That is the way people do business but trust me bro they won't last for long as people sooner or later will know their "style" of making business. Their business won't last in long term, customer will runs bit by bits. I prefer buying LS from the fellow SRC reefers, because every time i buy LS from them we will talk to each other, gain knowledge & exchange experience. I believe this is how "old timer" when through their reefing years, gaining knowledge.

Sabar Bro John Deroe Kenedy.

So far the most reliable LFS with 90% survival without any sickness (i dont practice Quarantine due to lack of space) is CoralFarm (those that are displayed at the back)...

The shop that i talk about, so far only my 6 line Wrasse survive till now.. Other than that, the rest all fail...

Commissioned 20/9/2012

Incoming:

Conch ll Basic

I think its impt to qt all fish even from fellow reefers. I learnt the hard way. Once I bought some clowns from a fellow reefer (they looked perfectly healthy btw), and put into main tank. 4 days later, all my banner fish got hit with ich.

Another time, i bought 6 fish from a lfs and put into my main tank. In the end 5 survived (1 KO due to stress) but........for the next 3-4 days, had to keep clearing corpses every morning.I lost about 15 of my long time residents due to bacteria infection. I think sometimes, the fish we bring back are carriers - they may have developed resistance to a particular strain of disease, but our own resident fish may be vulnerable.