BIOHOME

fangtooth

hi gangs, anyone using those biohome?hows the results, as compared to conventional ceramic rings and bio balls?

also the amount you put? thanks!

how much to put? .. I doubt you can put much sinc you already mentioned Nano tanks.. the filters would be too small to put a lot..

Me not using that biohome thingy. Just the normal ones but I put as much as I can into the filter.. not to forget you need space for the active carbon too..

sorry.. misread the nano part.. was from richng instead of you :P

hahaha!!!!!! see lah, hack properly next time ok. :lol:

hehe.. paiseh.. BTW isit much more ex for this biohome compared to the normal bio-rings?

I am currently using biohome too (300 gram for my 150l tank for 3 months already) so far so good. Had met an reefer too, he say his tank was mature in 10 days time with biohome, well you can try too. Also I call up the supplier, they said it is advisable to replace them after 1-2 years usage. Anyone can share!!

Had seen the sintered quartz by ehiem, it claimed it can be recharge and re-use forever......, yet the price is cheaper :)

Hey !

I use Bio-Home sintered glass too...both white and red (with nutrients) type. I put in 1kg for my 4ft tank....so far so good....no casualty. It claimed that it can out-perform normal coral chips or ceramic chips/ bio-balls in terms of highest surface area for good baterias to adehered to, by at least 30 times (36.5X to be exact).

Proven porosity of useable specific surface area

=================================

Bio-home sintered glass = 7,300 sq.ft per kg

Bio-balls/ Normal ceramics = 200 sq.ft per kg.

More surface area means....possibly can keep more fishes to handle higher bio-load lah ..ke..ke...

Cheers !

I use 1kg standard and 1 kg nutrients type for my 4 ft. Replace them with ceramic rings in eheim pro II canister.

It works great. Water is clearer. Cloudiness does not occur during feeding time and surface film disappears.

Been using for about one month. Great result but expensive stuff. Wish can buy more without feeling the pinch in the pocket.

the specs i read is 1 kg for 1500L of SW.

i guess we singaporean a bit kiasu..... thus 'over put' the amount.

i do that too... fyi, results so far very good . nitrate maintain below 5.

water super clear. but still dare not recommend first.i'll try too overstock my tank and see the results.

I too am very impressed with the results after using Biohome :rolleyes: . I've been using those eheim substrate and ceramic rings for three years in my eheim canister but nitrate seems to rise at a constant rate although filtration for ammonia and nitrite is excellent :eyeblur: . So I've always been watching my stocking ratio and doing appropriate water changes to prevent mishaps (tank crash) :cry2:

After replacing the filter media with Biohome (which is ridiculously expensive :angry: $$$ :angry: ), I began to see that nitrate readings has begun to drop :heh: and remains constant for about a month already :whistle . I don't know if it will stay that way in the long run but so far so good. Water is noticably clearer and cloudiness dissappears immediately after feeding. I am hoping the product will be as good as it claims :erm:

Only time will tell :unsure: