KaEN Posted January 14, 2004 Share Posted January 14, 2004 2 days ago, 1 of my firefish jumps out of my tank, my sis said she saw my skunk clown chased it and cos it to suicide... i pick it up and put it back into the tank but yesterday, it juz gone before my eyes .... today morning, i manage to transfer the skunk clown to another tank to prevent the same incident to occur to my the other firefish... but juz now as i came back from work, my sis told mi tat she saw the firefish was on the ground sometime ago.... omg, can anyone tell mi wat actually happen or advise mi? ... now that firefish is back in my tank, staying at the spot whr the previous firefish died...it looks very sloopy......i'm afraid it might juz died like the previous one... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member arcanehacker Posted January 14, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 14, 2004 2 days ago, 1 of my firefish jumps out of my tank, my sis said she saw my skunk clown chased it and cos it to suicide... i pick it up and put it back into the tank but yesterday, it juz gone before my eyes .... today morning, i manage to transfer the skunk clown to another tank to prevent the same incident to occur to my the other firefish... but juz now as i came back from work, my sis told mi tat she saw the firefish was on the ground sometime ago.... omg, can anyone tell mi wat actually happen or advise mi? ... now that firefish is back in my tank, staying at the spot whr the previous firefish died...it looks very sloopy......i'm afraid it might juz died like the previous one... both times your sis told you.. hmm ... sounds fishy .. hehe.. kidding.. sorry for the lost of your fish .. probably your water level is too high. Possibility that your skunk shrimp is trying to clean the fish but the fish just refused.. not the shrimp's fault. Its his job to clean the fishes.. not like my scarlet shrimp .. doesn't do a thing.. waste space.. Quote Why do we use "My 2 cents worth" when 1 cents are not legal tender in Singapore anymore? Shouldn't it be 5 cents worth? "Its easier to blame the 'mantis' or crabs in the tank for missing & dead livestocks.." http://arcanehacker.blogspot.com/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
KaEN Posted January 14, 2004 Author Share Posted January 14, 2004 oh, nono, is no a shrimp, is a skunk clown fish.... anyway cant be my sis, cos she's old enough to noe wat she's doing izzit really my water lvl?? oh no, i cant lower my water lvl cos i'm using a hanging filter, if i lower it the filter will not work.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted January 14, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 14, 2004 they are known to jump out of tanks. Get an eggcrate cover or something to cover your tank but still provide sufficient ventilation Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dave57 Posted January 14, 2004 Share Posted January 14, 2004 add a light diffuser on the tank Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted January 14, 2004 Share Posted January 14, 2004 Mine jumped out twice..and that's about it..now dun jump already. You might want to try reducing your water level. Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted January 14, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 14, 2004 I have 2 firefish gobies in my 2 ft tank now.(originally in 3 ft with cover). I fill the water to the brim and have no cover for this tank. No fish is bothering them So they haven't jumped out. Never showed any signs of suicide tendency etc. haha. Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hypervtec Posted January 14, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 14, 2004 me too got 2 inside my 2ft tank.try not to stress them,coz they r very timid.my water level is also very high,they even swim up to get food.so no problem for me.beside the skunk clown,u keep any other aggressive fish?.I got a blacktail damsel,sometime will attack them,but so far ok,nothing happen. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member 19percula Posted January 14, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 14, 2004 bro they are known as gd jumpers better have something to cover mine okie for a few weeks after that also disapper for a few weeks then discover them behind my tank after a few weeks all of that for a few weeks LOL Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted January 14, 2004 Share Posted January 14, 2004 Mine lucky..when it jumped out twice I was around and heard the thud..about more than 1m fall for the poor thing...then I think it learnt its lesson and stopped jumping... Been with me for about 5-6 months already.... I also have a purple firegoby..it seems less inclined to jump compared to the firegoby.... Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member 19percula Posted January 14, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 14, 2004 fuel lucky u Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hypervtec Posted January 14, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 14, 2004 Bro 19percula,thanks for your advise.got a eggcrate on top to put the fan,but not fully covered,very troublesome if i have to cover all,coz i handfeed my fishes.keke...hope it won't jump out from the opening side. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted January 14, 2004 Share Posted January 14, 2004 You'll never know...my firefish jumped out twice while I was using a canopy...jumped thru the small hole at the back where my pipings come in... After I went canopyless...no more incidents. Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achilles Tang Posted January 14, 2004 Share Posted January 14, 2004 You really can't stop such fishes from jumping out of your tank. Water level doesn't matter. If something spooks it enough... it'll jump out. You can use eggcrate but you'll block a lot of light going into your tank. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member kelstorm Posted January 15, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 15, 2004 what AT mentioned is true.. they can even jump thru the eggcrate... most impt is not to spook them, have acres of spaces for it to hide and rest... increasing the numbers also help to keep them calm... i used to keep 2 and they are jumpy and 1 did ala Leslie Cheung until i added another 5 more and nothing happened ever since... Quote Let us work together to preserve the world for our children to inherit by being responsible to our surroundings. Take nothing but pictures, leave nothing but footprints, bubbles and memories. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Nic a Jon Posted January 15, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 15, 2004 I bot a firefish just 2weeks back. Initially was bullied by my damsel till quite stessed but never seen it try jumping out of tank. It will always hide in a nearby LR for security if stress. Maybe now i shud buy one or two more firefish to keep it company. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
KaEN Posted January 15, 2004 Author Share Posted January 15, 2004 me too got 2 inside my 2ft tank.try not to stress them,coz they r very timid.my water level is also very high,they even swim up to get food.so no problem for me.beside the skunk clown,u keep any other aggressive fish?.I got a blacktail damsel,sometime will attack them,but so far ok,nothing happen. i have another maroon clown, which they have been good tank mates for more than a month, so i dun tink is cos by the maroon. 2 cleaner shrimp, which i tink is impossible to cos it to jump.... now i cant find the firefish, hopefully will appear soon. btw for a 2 feet tank, how many firefish i can keep? i really luv them Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kiki Posted January 15, 2004 Share Posted January 15, 2004 I have a fire inside my 2ft oso.My neon damsel tried to bully it but it will turn and try to attack back. Will disappear for days and sudennly appear. Hides in hole it dug between LR and sand bed. Noticed from reflection on side of tank. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
eggtart20 Posted January 18, 2004 Share Posted January 18, 2004 I have one fire goby too in my tank...But my yellow dwarf angel keep chasing it while my other fishes can/t be bother at all.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member shiok Posted January 21, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 21, 2004 i think providing holes for it helps thats... my firefish will dart back to its bolt hole whenever it feels threaten but the minus point is it's never far from it Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted January 21, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 21, 2004 My fire fishes have bolt holes too. But they still swim around the whole tank Even picking food off the surface. Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nsyahron Posted January 21, 2004 Share Posted January 21, 2004 Holes or caves will help the firefish settle down quicker. Mine in a 2ft took 1 month to calm down. He has a clarkii and a bicolor angel (a mistake, I know) as tankmates. No problems. And I dont have a tank cover. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
eggtart20 Posted January 21, 2004 Share Posted January 21, 2004 My poor goby been recently chase around by my yellow dwarf angel and won't eat too. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ervine Posted January 21, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 21, 2004 I bought 3 fires and within a week they are already very active in the tank, anything that spooks them they merely dart back into a cave they have selected... other than that they are always swimming in open water... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bwilly Posted January 21, 2004 Share Posted January 21, 2004 if it can, it will happens. my "seasoned" fire goby, jumped out of tank.. when I found it, it was dried like ikan billis.. it can be swimming ard, but anything that scares it, it may just jump out of the water, without you knowing.. esp CNY, note any strangers going or sudden movement near your tank. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...