SRC Member Froggy Posted January 9, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 9, 2004 Hi all, Need to seek advice from all. I'm planning to use fan to cool my 3footer, due to the high evaparation rate; more topup will be needed. Will these fresh water topup cause any parameters to swing? I presume ph will be the first to be affected, how abt kh/alk, etc... Can i minimise these swing if i use the t.u.b.b.y which tops up slowly and constantly.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tfrancis Posted January 9, 2004 Share Posted January 9, 2004 Well for my case I am topping it up every night with fresh tap-water and it seems to hold well. I am using 9 DIY fans to cool the water. I think the trick is not to get the water too salty. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lightningstrike Posted January 9, 2004 Share Posted January 9, 2004 juz top it up wif dechlorinated freshwater or even better RO water. no one will top off wif saltwater as salt does not evaporate. only water does. Quote Austin the Westie: "I may be your best friend, but you are my everything". Lightning Strike's Back!!! Reefkeeping Is Not My Hobby, It's My Obsession. Austin's Birthday Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Dazza Posted January 9, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 9, 2004 well for my 5 ft tank i just top it up every 2 days with water fresh frm tap. I know some will jump at me but hv been doing this for yrs n no big harm. Quote Main Tank : 48 inch by 36 inch by 28 inch (2 sides starphire glass)Sump Tank :Return Pump :Chiller : Starmax Compressor 1 HP Drop coilChiller Return Pump Protein Skimmer :Wave Maker :Fluidised Reactor : Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member rainbowdarter Posted January 9, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 9, 2004 ya..mee too top up every 2 days with declorinated tap water (Standby inside big container) Bo Pien....cant afford chiller. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted January 9, 2004 Share Posted January 9, 2004 I on my fan 24/7. Top up with kalk mostly...only switch to pure freshwater when calcium exceeeds recommended values....... Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted January 9, 2004 Share Posted January 9, 2004 Err.. qns... will there be side effect if calcium level too high... Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mAriNe_enthusiast Posted January 9, 2004 Share Posted January 9, 2004 I top up with water left overnite...Dun think it'll cause much changes to water parameter except salinity. Top up with kalk mostly... So u mix kalk with the freshwater and use as top-up water? Will cause any Ph swing or Kh swing? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member AquaRa Posted January 10, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 10, 2004 just leave tap water overnight and use it to top up Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mingwen1611 Posted January 10, 2004 Share Posted January 10, 2004 abit though... paiseh... but ask you guys ar.... wad is the best brand for fans? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mingwen1611 Posted January 10, 2004 Share Posted January 10, 2004 erm... is it ok to put the fan in the sump? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted January 10, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 10, 2004 I'm thinking of using fans as well. What type of fans do I use?? Can someone post a link, picture or something. I would need a few Big fans As I using only fans to cool my 3 ft with 2 ft sump using MH. Details on where to get fan etc will be appreciated as well. I want big ones that is will sufficently cool my water. Gonna use 150W MH for my 3 feet. Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mingwen1611 Posted January 10, 2004 Share Posted January 10, 2004 how long do you guys on your fans? 24hrs or when the temperature is not rite? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted January 10, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 10, 2004 I reckon the same time the lights are on. Set on timer for both to on at certain time etc. Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ben Posted January 10, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 10, 2004 MH? dont need to think using fan. It wont help. MH is too hot and u end up spending more expensive and too many fans still not very good.. suggesting chiller to u if using MH Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted January 10, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 10, 2004 cannot afford leh. thought of using like 3 fans to cool my water. Blowing directly at the water surface of sump. You tried before? How you know? Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
cjack Posted February 7, 2004 Share Posted February 7, 2004 I have a 15" inch tank and the temperature is always very high at 29/30 degrees celsius. What is the best way to reduce the temperature? Will one of those small clip-on fans help? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted February 7, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 7, 2004 yea they do help... But they have to be blowing at the water surface and not too far from it... Evaporation rate will be high.. Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member typrobin Posted February 7, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 7, 2004 i'm using a clip-on fan, slightly bigger than a computer fan, bought in LFS.it actually helps to bring down the temperature by 3-4 degree C. i point it directly at the surface of my main tank about 3inches away from the surface.cheap and good, but i need to top up. about 3-4ltr more water compared to no fan.i dunno why but my temperature is always @ 30degree C(day or nite) without fan, so if no fan is included, i probably haf steamed fish after a hot afternoon with my lights on. Quote MY OLD 3ft!! My Latest Plan!! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted February 7, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 7, 2004 30 degree celcius??? U have too many appliances in the water?? Like Powerheads etc?? Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member AquaRa Posted February 7, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 7, 2004 too much calcium, if i'm not wrong, will cause alkalinity to change Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted February 7, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 7, 2004 Calcium affect Carbonate Hardness... Thus increasing the dKH Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ervine Posted February 7, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 7, 2004 MH? dont need to think using fan. It wont help. MH is too hot and u end up spending more expensive and too many fans still not very good.. suggesting chiller to u if using MH Eh not really.. I'm using 250W on a 2.5x15ft without chiller, so far corals and fishes still okay... but take heed my fan is a table fan, not those small clips ones... and my MH is ventilated (i.e. not a hood) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member shawncel Posted February 7, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 7, 2004 Eh not really.. I'm using 250W on a 2.5x15ft without chiller, so far corals and fishes still okay... but take heed my fan is a table fan, not those small clips ones... and my MH is ventilated (i.e. not a hood) Using a 250W MH without a chiller and just a table fan, what temperature are you getting? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member typrobin Posted February 7, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted February 7, 2004 30 degree celcius??? U have too many appliances in the water?? Like Powerheads etc?? no leh, 1 return pump and 1 skimmer pump?? i tot quite standard...oh yah i juz added another pump for current in the main tank...but the temperature was already 30 degree C before i added the latest pump....still thinking of ways to reduce temperature.... Quote MY OLD 3ft!! My Latest Plan!! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...