Hydrometer BREAK!!!!!

this morning i wake up n saw my hydrometer break n the small metal balls inside come out ...problem now is tat will the chemical pose a GREAT DANGER to my tank???? luckily the mercury bulb did not break but i m worry the metal ball ta scatter into my tank n ist here any chemical contain in the smallmetal balls???

i hope that the metal ball is not coated with mercury..perhaps u can check what are the balls actually use for~~over the net.if not i cant imagine~~humans after taking mercury also cannot tahan~~~ not to mention corals alone

this morning i wake up n saw my hydrometer break n the small metal balls inside come out ...problem now is tat will the chemical pose a GREAT DANGER to my tank???? luckily the mercury bulb did not break but i m worry the metal ball ta scatter into my tank n ist here any chemical contain in the smallmetal balls???

Wah...how the meter break? By itself? some blur fish knock onto it?

Why do you people keep leaving the damn hydrometer in the tank for?

Those balls are lead (but aren't as big as mine) and will corrode in saltwater. Scoop as much out as possible. There's nothing much else you can do.

i use the plastics type one.e.e.ekkeke more safe

even break no worry~~~~

suggest you change to plastic one after this incident

may I know where can I find the plastic one? I've only seen glass ones with small little lead balls at the bottom of the tube.

perhaps I've missed it everytime I'm at a LFS. Maybe you can show a picture of it..

you can use seachem products~~it is a very good brand..i am using right now too..~ it remove toxic metals~~

give it a try~~but is not that cheap

SeaGel™is an efficient blend of Matrix Carbon™ and PhosGuard™. SeaGel™ removes organic and color impurities, phosphates, silicates, toxic metals and acids.

yest my coco worm was crashed by my scroll, make my water very cloudy then i change to new seachem carbon and today morning woke up water more clean not so cloudy liao..thumbs up for seachem

u can get from reborn~~~or petmart,

all i can said most marine shops have

may I know where can I find the plastic one? I've only seen glass ones with small little lead balls at the bottom of the tube.

perhaps I've missed it everytime I'm at a LFS. Maybe you can show a picture of it..

if you are speaking of just the hyrdometer, you should be able to find plastic hydro nearly in every lfs that sell marine or fresh water... those type you might need to scope and watch the swinging arm to indicate the level of salinity. it should cost between 6-10bucks.

but i think yours is the hydro + thermometer kind, hence you may also wish to change the thermometer to the electronic kind that you can stick onto the exterior of your tank; no lead balls no mercury no risk. ;)

...what are u missing from your life?... dun wait till your last breathe before telling them that you care

Wah...how the meter break? By itself? some blur fish knock onto it?

tink so tat some fishes looking for food in the nite n blindy knock into it :P ... still hv the cheek to tok ###### when my tank like tat....

i use the plastics type one.e.e.ekkeke more safe

even break no worry~~~~

suggest you change to plastic one after this incident

yup thats wat exactly wat i did after i broke mine a mth ago :P

did u end up like mine tank? ball bearings scatter into the tank?? if so wat did u do to minise the damage???

hehe mine lucky i spotted early before the spill so notting happened till now :lol: