BlurFish Posted January 8, 2004 Share Posted January 8, 2004 HI,guys i just STARTED 3 months ago.now having problems with my yellow & purple tang.the white spots on them just wont disappear.can some one please help.thanx. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member siglap Posted January 8, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 8, 2004 how long have the fishes been in your tank? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlurFish Posted January 8, 2004 Author Share Posted January 8, 2004 they have been in it for 2 to 3 weeks. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member siglap Posted January 8, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 8, 2004 in that case it is considered that they are stable already. did any thing drastic happen? or any new live stock being introduced to the tank?. also did the white spots just appear suddenly or has been there for quite some time Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlurFish Posted January 8, 2004 Author Share Posted January 8, 2004 yes it appeared with a few spots first during 1 afternoon and i look at them in the night i almost fainted. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member siglap Posted January 8, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 8, 2004 for how many days has the condition persisited and also did any thing drastic happen? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlurFish Posted January 8, 2004 Author Share Posted January 8, 2004 it has been persisted for 1 week.and before i've got these 2 tangs the previous batch of fishes died because of this problem too. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member siglap Posted January 8, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 8, 2004 well if it is that long they probably will be fine. fishes especially tangs are prone to white spots. all fishes are not 100% clean. if they are stressed out they will be prone to white spots. you will notice the fishes that have spent a long time in your tank will not be so easily infected even if a newly introdueced fish is badly infested with it. it works to a simple equation, stress= vulnerablilty to diseases. lower their stress level will allow them to be better protected from different diseases Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member siglap Posted January 8, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 8, 2004 in your case i think unless you see you tang s having difficulty breathing or any major anormalities. it is okay to leave them in there. are they still eating well? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bwilly Posted January 8, 2004 Share Posted January 8, 2004 just monitor lohz.. do a research on ich for indepth detail n how to overcome them.. gd luck..! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlurFish Posted January 8, 2004 Author Share Posted January 8, 2004 so,what should i do.corals doing fine accept my cat eye bubble. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlurFish Posted January 8, 2004 Author Share Posted January 8, 2004 they are eating well especially purple tang. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member siglap Posted January 8, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 8, 2004 corals are not affected by white spots so not to worry Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bwilly Posted January 8, 2004 Share Posted January 8, 2004 feed them garlic soaked food. nothing much u can do at all. all the preventive measures.. too late to implement liao. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member siglap Posted January 8, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 8, 2004 if they are eating well it is a good sign Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlurFish Posted January 8, 2004 Author Share Posted January 8, 2004 so do u think i can add in new fishes right now.as i saw some alantic blue tang at LCK very nice cant wait to bring 1 home Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted January 8, 2004 Share Posted January 8, 2004 Hmm..wrong forum leh..should post under diseases thread. Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlurFish Posted January 8, 2004 Author Share Posted January 8, 2004 sorry lah i'm new.first time post leh...... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted January 8, 2004 Share Posted January 8, 2004 hehe..ur nick says it all.. Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member siglap Posted January 8, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 8, 2004 ok blue tang are super prone to white spots it might not that good a idea now. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member siglap Posted January 8, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 8, 2004 the tank also need to be big enough. how big is yours? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlurFish Posted January 8, 2004 Author Share Posted January 8, 2004 L3 B1half H2 ft. not very big right.some more using cannister filter Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member siglap Posted January 8, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 8, 2004 yes its not very big. tangs are pretty big fish and thay grow quickly if the ones in your tank are small, i think maybe getting another tang is not such a good idea. though mine is only a two feet Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Clownfish Posted January 9, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 9, 2004 tangs r veri susceptible to white spots esp in a new tank.... u hav to feed them healthy food ( try soaking frozen food in garlic guard ) n also maintain good water parameters as poor water parameters will give them stress.... there's no 100% guaranteed fast way... just do things steady n patient and yes, try not to add new fishes at this point of time, let ur existing habitants be stable first, dun overstock (problem with new reefers) or stress them with new additions or add in other parasites due to shipping Quote My Personal Blog My Wedding Website Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Matt06 Posted January 9, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 9, 2004 You might like to purchase Garlic Guard by Seachem and soak them in your frozn food before feeding.. The situation will def. improve... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...