Selling Twin T5 Lighting for 5ft Tank

Selling for serious buyer only.

1. Selling twin T5 (5ft) oceanfree light fitting without tubes for $100. I got 2 sets.

(Can be tested with a T8 40W tube. Please take note ballasts are meant for 54W T5 not T8). For those who are are not aware, the different between T5 and T8 are diameter size not ballast. All Ballasts can be use as long as wattage are not overused. As i am very annoyed by people who are not technical inclined but try to agrue on things they do not know. Well too sad to encounter many smart alex guys in this forum.

2. 5 ft 3 x 36W PL (5ft) actinic tube with electronic ballast. Come with 3 PL tubes. (4 mth old) Original price $120 - Now selling $50.

Pls pm me with your contact if interested, i shall sms u my address for viewing.

You are using a FL T12 tube on the so called T5 housing.

The casing looks like another FL housing which u said can use for T5..

I have seen the ballast for a T5, normal housing cannot fit oki..

Are you saying as long as wattage for tube is lower or similar any tube also can use..? U go try MH ballast with a FL, see can work..

U still got cheek to sms me back.. kaoz..

my wife was waiting in the car while I was up, not to mention

I drove to your place.

Your PL tube please also clarify the PL does not fit, u use a white tape to hold them in. Totally unsafe..

PLEASE BE HONEST N LIST CORRECTLY..

I have further called personally two sponsors to verify, luckily I did..

if you want to try a con job, do it else where..

huh?? actually from what I know the Normal FL ballast aas long as it is rated at a wattage higher than what the FL tube uses can use liao but must not exceed too much... I'm actually ruunning a t12 tube in a supposed t8 fitting.. t5s are FL tubes after all... Thought that as long as it is an FL tube which is the same length and of appropriate wattage can use?? Or have I been stupid all this while?? haha I'm not too technically inclined...

Dont worry ryz, its k to use. As long as your ballast wattages is higher or the same as the light tube, its ok to use and wont damaged anything. But there is a disadvantage. The ballast is actually to limit the current flow to the tube to prevent damages to it in case of any imbalance in the supply power. It further prolongs the lifespan of the tube when the current is supplied balanced. So its advisable to use a proper wattages for the tube for more protection.

For MH ballast system, its totally a different type of ballast which is use to have high ignition surge power function. We cant compared a plane with a car, can we?

T5, T8, T12 are all considered FL. Different is the product specs.

T4 is also another type of FL but the product is enhanced with a new design/technology so its called PL.

MH is considered from HQI types of lighting.

Hopes this will clarify. If anyone still in doubt, go and check all about lightings in electrical engineering books. But it will consumed u alot of time. :rolleyes:

Dont worry ryz, its k to use. As long as your ballast wattages is higher or the same as the light tube, its ok to use and wont damaged anything. But there is a disadvantage. The ballast is actually to limit the current flow to the tube to prevent damages to it in case of any imbalance in the supply power. It further prolongs the lifespan of the tube when the current is supplied balanced. So its advisable to use a proper wattages for the tube for more protection.

For MH ballast system, its totally a different type of ballast which is use to have high ignition surge power function. We cant compared a plane with a car, can we?

T5, T8, T12 are all considered FL. Different is the product specs.

T4 is also another type of FL but the product is enhanced with a new design/technology so its called PL.

MH is considered from HQI types of lighting.

Hopes this will clarify. If anyone still in doubt, go and check all about lightings in electrical engineering books. But it will consumed u alot of time. :rolleyes:

then how come nobody is using a FL house for T5 lights..?

n T5 housing is so much X..?

then how come nobody is using a FL house for T5 lights..?

n T5 housing is so much X..?

???

Im talking about ballast and now the topic had changed to lightings housing?

Have u seen an electronic ballast lenght? Do u know whats the real different in T5, T12. Same lenght have different wattages so need different ballast wattages so sizes varies here. A small van cant load up a 1 ton cargo but a lorry can.

Why does a lorry is more ex than a small van? This is an answer. Think about it.

PS: I have seen someone house a MH in a FL hosing and its still OK.

Note: Im not going to post anymore here as my advise is actually to Ryz only.

Im not a paid consultant here.

:eyeblur:

???

Im talking about ballast and now the topic had changed to lightings housing?

Have u seen an electronic ballast lenght? Do u know whats the real different in T5, T12. Same lenght have different wattages so need different ballast wattages so sizes varies here. A small van cant load up a 1 ton cargo but a lorry can.

Why does a lorry is more ex than a small van? This is an answer. Think about it.

PS: I have seen someone house a MH in a FL hosing and its still OK.

Note: Im not going to post anymore here as my advise is actually to Ryz only.

Im not a paid consultant here.

:eyeblur:

Ben, thanks for your knowledge.

As i am not a con man. I didnot even sell him anything. Seems like he knows everything. Well, this shows how much he knows about T5. Thanks for clearing everything as i am afraid in his mind I am cheating him.

Sorry Bro, his arrogance and ignorance prove that he need to learn more about lightings and manners.

Well, AT, I am not going to have anything to do with him. let the public judge.

Unless he can prove me wrong, i shall give him my fitting for FREE. a gentleman word. If not he owns me an apology.

Why having all the trouble with just a fitting worth $100.00. Sales closed. Not selling anymore, rather dump it in the store than let people accuse me of cheating.

Thanks guys.

:( sorry to see that things have to come to this... hope some experts or ppl who are familiar with lightings and technical stuff can come and clear the air...

1. can t8 ballast be used for t5 if wattage is suitable

2. what is the difference between the conventional t5 ballast and t8 ballast of similar wattage

3. what alteratiosn do we need to do to use the ballast for t5s & what are the pros and cons of doing so...

really hope this gets cleared soon... :/ cool it guys...

in the first place after I left your place I did not get anything, u got the cheek to say I waste your time. U should told me its a FL housing in the first place.

I already let the matter rest.

After I reach home I notice u still sms complain I waste your time.

u veri free is it..? or your stuff so long n nobody wants to buy, n get sour that I did not get it.

In the first place if u told me its FL housing I won't waste my time n petrol going to your place. who's wasting who's time..

I'll leave it as it is..

n quit blackmail n threaten me via sms anymore. it won't work on it, UNCLE!! :snore:

To my knowledge,

A ballast can be used to fire up a bulb properly if the wattage is suitably matched.

The T5 and T8 designations are only referring to the diameter of the tubes... they are essentially still flourescent tubes.

What's the issue here? Wattage? What's the wattage of the ballast then?

To my knowledge,

A ballast can be used to fire up a bulb properly if the wattage is suitably matched.

The T5 and T8 designations are only referring to the diameter of the tubes... they are essentially still flourescent tubes.

What's the issue here? Wattage? What's the wattage of the ballast then?

no, I just wanted to clear some doubts, n this guy sore that I did not

buy anything from him.. waste his time 10mins..?

I wasted mine travelling down n my family in my car..? his time so

precious meh? :sick:

In all fairness, a FL/PL housing can hold any bulb if the proper tube holders/end caps are installed. A FL/PL housing can also be modded to hold a MH bulb but its definitely not recommended.

If its a designated T8 housing, the tube holder will be sized accordingly to the T8 tube diameter and so will the endcaps be sized to hold the pins only for T8 tubes.

If its been modded to hold T5 tubes, then of course everything should be sized accordingly to T5 measurements!

The ballast is another matter. Depending on the length of the tubes, they will correspond to the maximum/minimum wattage recommended to drive the tubes. If the ballast is underpowered or overpowered, the bulb will not light/blow accordingly. E-ballasts are better because of the instant start and help keep the electricity stable so that the light tube life is extended.

Perhaps Reefaholic may not have been entirely clear in his description of this item for sale. If you read the suggested guidelines for Pasir Malam... the seller MUST be responsible to give the best description he can give so that the potential buyer will know what to expect and also to save everyone's time and money to go view the product.

Please be gracious in recognizing that perhaps there is a failure in somebody's part in communicating properly about the sale and just walk away from this episode.

Don't get personal please... take it offline or via PMs.

nothing personal here, reefhorlic. but just dun likes your threatening matter.

ok, I was told I JUST NEED to get T5 tubes n I am ready to go..

so hor.. heading got to change, "T5" housing, but need to change ballast yourself.. cause used previously for FL..?

:( sorry to see that things have to come to this... hope some experts or ppl who are familiar with lightings and technical stuff can come and clear the air...

1. can t8 ballast be used for t5 if wattage is suitable

2. what is the difference between the conventional t5 ballast and t8 ballast of similar wattage

3. what alteratiosn do we need to do to use the ballast for t5s & what are the pros and cons of doing so...

really hope this gets cleared soon... :/ cool it guys...

Most FL ballasts will work with T5 tubes but their life will be shortened. Normal instant start/rapid electronic ballast or choke start iron core ballast will cause the electrode to heat up rapidly and burning the phosphors coating. The rapid heating will also cause premature failure by burning out the electrode.

T5 requires slow/glow start ballast to preheat the electrode before striking the lamp. Osram T5 ballasts have the preheat function and I managed to find a electronic starter with the preheat function too.

Either you get a T5 eballast or you will need a electronic preheat starter + iron core ballast, otherwise the tube will have a shorter lifespan.

"nothing personal here, reefhorlic. but just dun likes your threatening matter"

These are all you had said.

"F...?

I use it often.. ah pek.

I already asked some ppl abt it.

U can keep your FL housing n sell it as T5 housing.

Or u keep your fish in FW since its also water, ah pek.

Keep your sue threat to the kids puberty kids oki..

After I left your place, u complain that I waste your time.

I did not mention anything at that point in time. I have

spent time n transport cost to went your place. I leave it at tat.

n u got cheek to sms me to complain.

bu song ah.. cannot make a sales.. ?

2nd hand price 10% wat indicate..? that's totally fraudenlent behavior n

u expect ppl to pay u for that. no wonder so long u stuffs still cannot sell,

how long u put online liao? how many ppl went down n go away?"

First you use the F word, calling me names, flaming me a con man and threatening me and you say that is nothing personal. I treat this very personal.

Well, sorry AT. We have people here think that T5 is special fitting not FL.

and FL housing cannot meant for T5.

OK, my fault..... T5 is not FL and FL housing not meant for T5.

Bwilly, U win.

I thought u close case liao uncle..?

still want a flaming war.. :snore:

as for your rest of your childish behavior I will ignore since u r quite sore

abt not selling your stuffs for so long.. :pinch:

refer back to your post lah.. change the heading, totally inaccurate.

next time u see ppl all posting T5 housing for sale.. cause u started

the trend.

well r u wrong in quoting that your "T5" housing is just plug n play

with a T5 tube?

There will be no problem at all when someone who is interested to buy something & decided that, after viewing, the item is not to his liking just tell the seller that he decides not to buy. I'm sure the seller will not mind that.

But if the buyer decides not to buy, gives unecesssary remarks & talks as though he knows alot of technical things (which in actual fact he knows nuts), then the seller have the reason to say that his time has been wasted (wasting time in letting the buyer come over to view the item & wasting time in the heated arguements).

Reefaholic, please continue using this forum to sell off your stuffs. :peace: One smart Alex maybe around to spoil your sales but just keep in mind that there are many more people who will be interested to buy your stuffs when they know exactly what you are selling. It's not important if FL casing is used to fit T5 or even MH lights. What most of us want is good quality of DIY.

Bwilly, if you know nuts about lightings, please do not voice out your arquements about it. Especially when your arquements could spoil other people's sales. :angry::angry::angry: You had spoil my previous sales with your "crude" remarks. If you have no interest in buying any items on sales, just skip the post let the seller finds his buyer peacefully. Do not put damaging remarks. The seller might be in deep finacial difficulties & he need some cash badly through his sales. With your kinds of remarks, you are "robbing" away his potential extra cash.

AT, I am making an "official" complain against Bwilly's behaviour. His behaviour is not welcomed in our community-based forums. :angry:

Sigh.

Okie. Thread will be closed as it is no longer productive.

If this spills out to any other thread, the mods and I have no choice but to give you both a time out of a few days to chill out.

I repeat, NO hint of this topic must come from both of you.