Live rocks should be scrubbed?

I'm a newbie still i guess heh. Just wanna ask when we buy live rocks from LFS must we scrub them? Is it mandatory? why do we scrub n clean the LR anyway? Thanks lots guys :D

Oh heh and just wanna thank aquamarin man :) they're really nice. Went there to get LRs sort of like urgently and they were so nice in helping me choose the right sized and beautiful ones. Excellent service and price too ;) Kudos to Janet!! :D

Actually the correct process is to scrub the LRs that you have bought to remove all dying offs. Its part of the LR curing process - do a search on LR curing process and you will know.

However, we Singaporean sometimes more "Ti Ki" or to put in nicely more "adventurous" and wanted a more convenient way out so alot never scrub loh.

List of stuffs that some people chose not to do in marine:

1) Never wash coral sand b4 placing into start-up tank

2) Never go through sand with magnet to remove metal debris

3) Never scrub LRs before placing into start-up tank

4) Never dechorinated tap water before mixing salts

5) Never alllow dechorinated tap water to aged into a tub with a powerhead before mixing salts

6) Never check salinity

7) Never cycle tank fully before added livestocks

8) Never wait till tank matures before adding sensitive livestocks

9) Never test water parameters

Anyway, the above is just the tip of the iceberg bro. Welocme to the hobby! :D

I am sure as you research more you will find more "Never". Good luck B)

5) Never alllow dechorinated tap water to aged into a tub with a powerhead before mixing salts

6) Never check salinity

ha...haa. How about never feed the fish? I mean use auto feeding timer.

:) Greeting :)

Tank: 4' by 2' by 2' (CR antique)

Sump: 3' include 1' refuigm

Haha ... Don't mind I help to add on after kareen's contribution. :lol:

6) Never check salinity

10) Never feed the fish

11) Never change water

12) Never read up on the basics of water chemistry and marine aquaria

13) Never bother to search the forum for info before asking questions

14) Never check on livestock compatibility and requirements before buying

15) Never consider the impact of financial/time investment before jumping into hobby

6) Never check salinity

10) Never feed the fish

11) Never change water

12) Never read up on the basics of water chemistry and marine aquaria

13) Never bother to search the forum for info before asking questions

14) Never check on livestock compatibility and requirements before buying

15) Never consider the impact of financial/time investment before jumping into hobby

your honour, i plead guilty to rule no. 3....

:evil:

your honour, i plead guilty to rule no. 3....

:evil:

Me too.

Maybe "scrub" is not an accurate term here because one may think of using a brush and really scrub the rock -- like scrubbing the floor.

I agree that LRs should be inspected for dead or dying organisms and have these removed. But scrubbing (with a brush) is not something that I think we should do. OK, OK ... maybe just shake it in a pail of tank water to dislodge debris or detritus would be alright by me.

Me too.

Maybe "scrub" is not an accurate term here because one may think of using a brush and really scrub the rock -- like scrubbing the floor.

I agree that LRs should be inspected for dead or dying organisms and have these removed. But scrubbing (with a brush) is not something that I think we should do. OK, OK ... maybe just shake it in a pail of tank water to dislodge debris or detritus would be alright by me.

Curing Live Rocks ;)

:cry2::cry2::cry2: I never scrap the LR leh. And now although have quite a lots of baby corals coming out, it also have alots of hairy algae too. Have view many display tanks and was admiring how clean are those LRs. Thinking of taking it out and do some hair cuts, is this OK?

Or, is there any other better way, esp not to damage those babies.

Help!

:thanks::thanks::thanks:

Items left...

Ehliem Wet & Dry 2223

Prizm protein skimmer

Coralife UV

Resun 650 chiller

Giving up hobby, due to family commitment.

:cry2:  :cry2:  :cry2: I never scrap the LR leh.  And now although have quite a lots of baby corals coming out, it also have alots of hairy algae too.  Have view many display tanks and was admiring how clean are those LRs.  Thinking of taking it out and do some hair cuts, is this OK?

Or, is there any other better way, esp not to damage those babies.

Help!

:thanks:  :thanks:  :thanks:

I think you may have a wrong perception.

The reason hair algae starts to grow is because there is light and food (nutrient, nitrate, phosphate) for them to feed on. It doesn't matter whether you scrub your rocks or not.

I think you may have a wrong perception.

The reason hair algae starts to grow is because there is light and food (nutrient, nitrate, phosphate) for them to feed on. It doesn't matter whether you scrub your rocks or not.

I know. But the fact was, there were some small macro algae left on the rocks when I put it in. So, now they are growing well, also those baby corals, plus those big macro algae bushes that I bought. Is there a better way to remove them beside pulling them off bit by bit, without hurting those baby corals around them?

Please teach me lah. :thanks:

Items left...

Ehliem Wet & Dry 2223

Prizm protein skimmer

Coralife UV

Resun 650 chiller

I know. But the fact was, there were some small macro algae left on the rocks when I put it in. So, now they are growing well, also those baby corals, plus those big macro algae bushes that I bought. Is there a better way to remove them beside pulling them off bit by bit, without hurting those baby corals around them?

Please teach me lah. :thanks:

Put in predators of algae eg. Tangs, Sally Lightfoot crabs, Algae Blennies, etc.

If your tank is big enough, you could consider putting in a Tang. I assure you, within a few days, all your macroalgae will be gone.

Put in predators of algae eg. Tangs, Sally Lightfoot crabs, Algae Blennies, etc.

If your tank is big enough, you could consider putting in a Tang. I assure you, within a few days, all your macroalgae will be gone.

Okie okie. But my tanks is only 3 months+ old. Will wait for another 3 months before the 1st yellow tang, when things are more stable. Scare they starve n die. Yellow tang quite ex leh. So, for time being, continue my gardening lor, but unfortunately algae is soft n break easily unlike those plant, and also cannot apply my whole set of planting tool in the Marine. :blink:

Items left...

Ehliem Wet & Dry 2223

Prizm protein skimmer

Coralife UV

Resun 650 chiller